Classification of Welding Processes

Classification of Welding Processes - There are about 35 different welding and brazing processes and several soldering methods in use by industry today.There are various ways of classifying the welding and allied processes. For example, they may be classified on the basis of :
(i) Source of heat, i.e., flame, arc, etc.
(ii) Type of interaction i.e. liquid/liquid (fusion welding) or solid/solid (solid state welding).
In general, various welding and allied processes are classified as follows:
1. Gas Welding
Airacetylene Welding
Oxyacetylene Welding
Oxyhydrogen Welding
 Pressure gas Welding
2. Arc Welding
Carbon Arc Welding
Flux Cored Arc Welding
TIG (or GTAW) Welding
Plasma Arc Welding
Electroslag Welding and Electro gas Welding
Stud Arc Welding.
Shielded Metal Arc Welding
Submerged Arc Welding
MIG (or GMAW) Welding

3. Resistance Welding
Spot Welding
Seam Welding
Projection Welding
Resistance Butt Welding
Flash Butt Welding
Percussion Welding
High Frequency Resistance Welding.

4. Solid State Welding
Cold Welding
Diffusion Welding
Explosive Welding
Forge Welding
Friction Welding
Hot Pressure Welding
Roll Welding
Ultrasonic Welding.

5. Thermo Chemical Welding Processes
Thermit Welding
Atomic Hydrogen Welding.

6. Radiant Energy Welding ProcessesElectron Beam Welding
Laser Beam Welding.



Popular posts from this blog


Download: All Codes for Certified API 570 Piping inspector 2016 Exam